If I were a Christian

If I were a Christian I would center my theology on the wholeness and sufficiency of the image of God in me and all of humanity.

If I were a Christian I would focus on being like Jesus rather than worshipping him.

If I were a Christian I would seek a community of people devoted to each other.

If I were a Christian I would center the teaching of Jesus that says the Kingdom of Heaven is within us.

If I were a Christian I would honor empirical evidence and the importance of science.

If I were a Christian I would honor the humanity of scripture and find solace in it’s flaws, contradictions, and short comings as a reflection of my own.

If I were a Christian I would honor the need for relentless self care because it’s consequence means loving my neighbors better.

If I were a Christian I would bless doubt, bless uncertainty, and bless questioning everything.

If I were a Christian I would bless intuition and reason.

If I were a Christian I’d bless context, and paradox.

If I were a Christian I would work out my brokenness / seek healing through therapists and not Pastors.

If I were a Christian I’d honor all faith traditions with a heart of humility.

If I were a Christian I would not gender God.

If I were a Christian I would admit the insufficiency of language to describe God.

If I were a Christian I would dance and laugh more.

If I were a Christian I would use expletives. A lot.

If I were a Christian I would honor the Israeli and the Palestinian equally.

If I were a Christian I would be “Pro-Voice”, listening to the stories of women concerning their lived experience regarding the decision to/ or not to have an abortion.

If I were a Christian I’d chase compassion.

If I were a Christian I’d chase justice

If I were a Christian “Church” would be something I did rather than some place I went.

If I were a Christian there would be no such thing as an other and if there was I’d live for the day when there wasn’t.

If I were a Christian I would honor the diversity of humanity as a reflection of the diversity of God.

If I were a Christian I would not be a Trump apologist.

If I were a Christian I would not give allegiance to empire.

If I were a Christian I would care about the health of our planet just as I care for the health of my own body.

If I were a Christian Heaven and Hell would have the same address between my ears.

If I were a Christian, I’d rest in Heaven more often than not.

Grace and Peace

 

 

 

Leave a comment